Red Eye: Rall’s Rampage

Wow. It’s only been a week since I last posted, but it has seemed like forever. Oh, I’ve checked in, watching my insignificant amount of blog traffic dwindle to nothingness due to lack of updates. What could I do? I was moving. You know how that goes. Packing, renting trucks, sweet-talking, coercing, threatening “friends” into helping…

Finally, it’s done. I’m in my new digs; a tiny conservative Mecca amidst far-left liberal hell. Still, Hell has great Thai food, and the neighborhood gas station doesn’t just sell beer, it sells a wide variety of imports (Stella Artois – around $12.00 for a six pack – among many others.)

No sooner do I get my “media wall” set up, just in time for “Red Eye,” do I discover something highly important: I forgot to order cable.

Instead of watching on this:

I’m watching “Red Eye,” and all my favorite FOX News shows on this:

Hey, no matter how small the screen, “Red Eye” is always larger than life.

Know what else is larger than life? Liberal hypocrisy.

As Greg Gutfeld pointed out in today’s “Greg-Alogue,” some idiot cartoonist who was all upset over Muslim sensibilities regarding “Everybody Draw Mohamed Day” is now actively encouraging a violent revolution right here in the good ol’ US of A.

Gutfeld said

Anyway, I bring this up because this is the same Ted Rall who now appeared on Dylan Ratigan’s show, to make a case for violent revolution in the United States. Yes, the guy who cowers in the face of intolerant extremists, is now egging on violent attacks against pudgy retirees in tricorn hats.

In the show, Ratigan asks, “Are things in our country so bad that it might actually be time for revolution?”

Of course, the answer is yes, and it requires “violence or at least the threat thereof.” Then Rall comes in – saying violence is a last resort. But – one he really, really likes!

Then, Gutfeld quotes Rall’s own book

The government, the corporations, and the extreme right are prepared to coalesce into an Axis of Evil. Are you going to fight back? Will you do whatever it takes, including taking up arms?… I want you to see that revolt is a good idea, and that it has never been more necessary.

Gee. Party of Fear much?

Is it just me, or is the Left coming  completely unhinged. These are the people who want to ban guns (so only criminals have them), and who whine incessantly about how conservatives are fear mongering, racist anti-government types intent on destroying the country by following that most revolutionary and radical of all documents: the US Constitution.

For two years, they’ve been pointing the finger at Tea Party activists, screaming about a couple of racially motivated signs, insisting at any time evil right wing militia groups were going to storm the White House.

Now, suddenly, the very same government “protecting” us from those corporate special interest fat cats is in cahoots with greedy capitalists and must be put down like dogs.

Nice.

Needless to say, Rachel Maddow and the reinstated Keith Olbermann were quick to point out how violent left wing radicals like Ted Rall is stirring the pot, promoting anti-government sentiment, and will most likely lead to the next Timothy McVeigh.

Oh, wait. They totally didn’t.

See, for a long time now, liberals have been engaging in wishful thinking when it comes to conservatives. They want the Tea Party to be about hate, because they want it to come to violence. They want a reason to stamp out conservatism once and for all, using any means necessary.

Not all liberals, of course. Just the asshats. As Bill Schulz pointed out on the show

I think anyone who brings up revolutionary rhetoric on either side is a tool.

Yeah, pretty much.

There might be a time in the future when the US must undergo another internal and violent struggle, but that time is not today. Why? Because conservatives just completed stage one of our dangerous, right wing revolution.

We voted.

Barely a week after the election, some major jerk is going on MSNBC to tell another major jerk that the government is part of an Axis of Evil. Could you guys at least get your own catch phrases? It’s one thing to blame Bush, but then to rip off his tag lines? Well, that’s just tacky.

Plus, you suck.

Part of me wants the left to bring it on. Come at us with your pussy WTO riot-style protests. Throw bricks through our windows. We have concealed carry permits, bitches.

Then, a more reasonable me takes over. I wonder how intellectually loose ex-cartoonists like Rall, or even Ratigan, affect the public mindset. To wit, I traversed the countryside, trying to find just one person who watched the MSNBC segment in question.

For the most part, the response I got was “MSNBwha?”

Then, finally, I found one Ratigan viewer lounging in the park.

Oddly, he had no comment.

I guess Che probably said no to the medical marijuana, huh?

So much for Rall’s dreams of a liberal revolution. See you again in 2012, you big fat pansy.

Red Eye” air date – November 10, 2010. Guests: Remi Spencer, Mike Riggs and Judah Friedlander. Cast: Host – Greg Gutfeld, Sequential Hermaphroditic Sidekick – Bill Schulz and Ombudsman – TV’s Andy Levy

The views in this post are entirely my own (except where I’m quoting.) Neither “Red Eye” nor Fox News endorse or support my “Red Eye” posts. I am not affiliated with the show in any way, other than being an avid fan.

Help a hard working “Red Eye” fan. Support the campaign to get my posts mentioned on the show (just once!) Write to “Red Eye” and mention this blog.

Comments
6 Responses to “Red Eye: Rall’s Rampage”
  1. olegna78 says:

    Ted wants to do away with the Plutocracy, just like you do (if you don’t, you are a fucking pussy). He is also pro-2nd amendment. Always has been. What problem could you possibly have with that?

    If you don’t like lefties, be a libertarian. Read some Austrian Economics. Visit a Lew Rockwell website. A good place to start is Mises.org. But this whole right-blob routine is just lazy.

    • What problem could I have with someone who runs in the other direction at the mere thought of a violent Muslim backlash, but advocates overthrowing the US government, big corporations and right wingers using violence?

      Gee… let’s think about that one for a minute.

      If I wanted to be a Libertarian, I would be. Rall sure doesn’t sound like a Libertarian to me.

  2. Bravo says:

    I’m less concerned about your views of Rall than I am about your hopes for democracy. We have been voting one party in and another party out with no particular rhyme or reason for the past 40 years. Over the same period, under both parties, things have been getting worse and worse. The dems have sold us out, and then the reeps have sold us out. They keep taking turns letting us get raped. Here is one result I’m sure you will not deny.

    —–1950—–
    INCOME = $3000
    HOUSE = $7,000

    —–TODAY—–
    INCOME = $30,000
    HOUSE = $200,000

    CHECK SOURCES
    median house prices 1950-present:
    http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/housing/census/historic/values.html

    median personal income today:
    http://www.census.gov/const/uspricemon.pdf

    income in 1950:
    http://www2.census.gov/prod2/popscan/p60-009.pdf

    • I agree with that point. If you think waging a violent civil war in this country is the solution, then I think you are woefully off base. This seems to be Rall’s conclusion. As you pointed out, this is a two-party problem. Rall seemed to indicate is a right wing problem and included them in his list of enemies he’d like to effectively blow away.

      A couple of things to note here: I am not a registered Republican. I live in WA, and we are fortunate enough to have open ticket primaries. This allows me to vote my conscious more easily, rather than stick to one platform. Some people have a problem with this system, but I really love being allowed to base my voting decisions on the personal platform of an individual candidate.

      On many issues, I identify with Libertarian ideas. On many issues, I identify with Republican concepts. Sometimes, I even think the Democrats have it right, though that’s happening less and less frequently these days.

      I’m seeing a real shake up in conservatism. Largely, this is due to the various Tea Party activist groups and a rebirth in grassroots politics. I think, though I certainly don’t agree with every candidate being championed by the various Tea Party organizations, this could potentially cause a real shift in conservative thinking.

      I’m hoping this “we the people” thinking continues. Thankfully, modern technology allows people like us to share and discuss our political similarities and differences, without having to rely solely on big media conglomerates for our information. The lines between Libertarian, GOP establishment, social conservatives, fiscal conservatives and other isms are really starting to blur.

      I think we now have a much better chance of holding candidates to their campaign promises and voting out those corrupted by Beltway power.

      Personally, I wish we could do away with political parties altogether.

      But yeah, I’m never going to take a guy like Rall seriously when he is so against foreign wars, but encourages violent uprising in his own country, or when he advocates free speech and expression, then wants to sue Ann Coulter for a statement about submissions for Holocaust cartoons. Especially after he used his own freedom of expression to call Condi Rice a “house nigga.”

      And, really, if you agree with Rall it’s time to take up arms and overthrow the government, I don’t really care what you think of me.

  3. Bravo says:

    Really good to talk to you. Like my conservative friends and family, there is usually tons to agree on.
    I’m not going to troll for Ted Rall, here. He can speak for himself.

    I do think there is value in both real conservatives and real liberals considering the full range of tools and stopping at nothing to rid this country of the cancers that plague it. If after the true left and the true right discard of the sellouts in their ranks, and collaborate toward throwing out the opportunists, career politicians and the oligarchs (and this can be purely legal, if you like), we can beat each other up.
    Like the Great Afghan warlord said: “First we kill the Russians, and then we kill each other.”

    On violence I will say the following: We are experiencing violence right now. If you are one of the many people who do not have a job, you are one car accident away from life-long financial ruin. In some cases, you are one preventable illness away from death (we can quibble about the numbers, but it’s in the 1000s). The blood is already running in the streets. Violence is here. What are we going to do? Vote some more.

    Well, look how that’s worked. Just like the dems, when the reeps are again voted out of majority, the country will not have changed trajectory one bit as a result.

    • Excellent. So, if a violent rebellion is the answer, as Rall seems to suggest, why is he doing nothing but … talking?

      If armed revolt is really what you guys want, then freakin’ do it already.

      But, you won’t.

      Nor will Rall.

      He’ll just encourage others to take up arms against the establishment, and sit back doing nothing.What’s that going to change?

Leave a Reply

