Red Eye: No, for Realsies!

After two nights of no “Red Eye,” I was so excited the show was actually going to air I promptly fell asleep and missed the first ten minutes.

That isn’t intended as sarcasm. I really, really was looking forward to “Red Eye,” and it was a fun episode.

Due to my late nap, I was kind of relying on Greg Gutfeld’s website, The Daily Gut, to provide me with post fodder, as his posts become the nightly Greg-Alogue. Sadly, the site has been having problems recently. While it’s back up and running, the latest post is from this past Monday.

No joy.

Instead of expanding on one segment, here’s a quick rundown of what you missed if you didn’t watch this latest episode:

A transgendered (M to F) golfer is having problems with the LPGA. Some seem to claim her muscle mass gives her an undue advantage.

TV’s Andy Levy “interrupted” the broadcast with several fake Fox news Alerts; a nod to the continuing coverage of the Chile mine rescue story that preempted the show the previous nights. Both of the alerts involved miners going back to the mine. One due to be stalked by Roman Polanski. Said Levy

He always preferred the company of miners

Classic!

The two biggest stories revolved around the nation’s revered president, Barack Obama.

First, Ancestry.com has revealed Obama is distantly related to both Sarah Palin and Rush Limbaugh. Both are 10th cousins.

Gutfeld said

Ancestry research is the dumbest thing ever because you can connect everyone to everyone.

This reminds me of a game we used to play in grade school, when we used to imagine family connections between everyone. We just wanted to be one big family! At some point, the X cousin umpteenth times removed lingo becomes meaningless, doesn’t it? I mean, aside from diluting heritage to the point of silliness, we all descend from the same mother, don’t we? You either believe in Adam and Eve, or Mitochondrial Eve. Possibly both.

Plus, we are 98% genetically similar to a chimpanzee, and 50% genetically similar to a banana. I’m convinced this makes me a distant cousin of Johnny Weissmuller. And a fruit salad.

The other President Obama story involved his recent town hall style “conversation” aired by BET, CMT and MTV. You know, the town hall where all the participants were pre-selected, as were their questions? Where a faux sense of diversity was forced on the panel.

You can watch the whole thing on MTV’s website here.

Obama provided very touchy feely soundbites, such as

Our strength comes from unity, not division.

And

If all of you lead, then your parents and your grandparents tend to follow.

Yeah, because I know when I was a disenfranchised, rebellious college student, I totally had my familial elders wrapped around my finger. Until, of course, I needed to eat.

Of note, President Obama said that “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” would end on his watch. Around the same time, as TV’s Andy Levy pointed out, AP announced the Department of Justice would seek to block a recent court injunction against the controversial policy.

In light of recent issues surrounding gays and gay rights, I’ve arrived at the following conclusion

Sweet irony. As a gay man, I’d rather have the distasteful honesty of Paladino than the tasteful dishonesty of the Obama admin.

Other stories covered included the tragic separation of David Arquette and Courtney Cox. I’d write more about that, but the wound is still too fresh…

Also, an interview with comedian Greg Wilson.

So, there you have it. Not quite the in depth post I normally like to write, but that’s the show as I saw it from a post sleep haze. Make sure and catch the podcasts tomorrow on iTunes, or on the brand new “Red Eye” website!

Hopefully, I’ll be back on form tomorrow … just in time for the weekend.

Red Eye” air date – October 15, 2010. Guests: SE Cupp, Imogen Lloyd Webber and Reggie Hamm. Also, comedian Greg Wilson Cast: Host – Greg Gutfeld, Sequential Hermaphroditic Sidekick – Bill Schulz and Ombudsman – TV’s Andy Levy

The views in this post are entirely my own (except where I’m quoting.) Neither “Red Eye” nor Fox News endorse or support my “Red Eye” posts. I am not affiliated with the show in any way, other than being an avid fan.

Help a hard working “Red Eye” fan. Support the campaign to get my posts mentioned on the show (just once!) Write to “Red Eye” and mention this blog.

 

Leave a Reply

  • wordpress blog stats
  • Performancing Metrics
  • Globe of Blogs
