How Much Social Networking is Too Much?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

I have my blog, where I post my thoughts, opinions, rants … whatever. Then I have my Twitter account, where I chat with some really cool people. I’ve set up my blog to automatically tweet new posts, hoping to bring in traffic and comments. I use Networked Blogs to update my blog’s Facebook “fan” page (I prefer friends to fans. Fans sounds so snotty.)

95% of the comments I get on blog posts either occur on Twitter or on Facebook, which means my posts lie there, barren and empty looking, like no one has read them. And, it means that people who follow me on Facebook don’t see the comments on Twitter, and vice versa.

There are a whole bunch of other social media services: Amplify, Tumblr, Digg, Friendfeed, etc.

What I’m noticing: people write something on their blogs, tweet the link, then talk about it on Amplify. They could be talking about it other places, too, as most of these services connect to the others. Each one is hoping you use it as your primary social network, conglomerating your activity in once place.

Of course, that doesn’t work. If you have a Twitter account, you have to have an Amplify account to find out what everyone is saying about your tweets; it’s kind of a meta-Twitter. Then, if you have an Amplify account, you can reference your Posterize account, and your Tumblr account. You might not have one, but your friends do, so you have to sign up there to follow mostly the same people talking about the same things in different places.

When does this stop?

As someone with a new blog, I find this frustrating. There’s no compelling reason to comment on a post I’ve made, because part of the reason for commenting is so people can read your comments and click through to your blog. Also, on well established sites, people comment because they want to be part of the conversation.

There’s actual a fair deal of conversation surrounding some of my posts. Problem is, hardly any of it takes place here, so no one knows. Why bother to comment when it looks like no one is going to read it?

Outside from my selfishly motivated whine, my question is this: how much is too much? Everyone runs to RedState or Liberty Pundits to put in their two cents, and rightly so. Excellent blogs runs by excellent people. But how does one get established when everything is getting more and more decentralized?

Are blogs just completely over? If you’re not established by now, you never will be? Or is there still room for newcomers in a (by technological standards) old format?

And how does spreading oneself over 3, 5, 10 social networks affect this? Good or bad?

Thoughts, opinions and comments greatly appreciated.

Comments
6 Responses to “How Much Social Networking is Too Much?”
  1. There. I commented. Happy now? :b

    Actually, spreading yourself over a ton of social networks is one of the best things you can do to get noticed. It builds name recognition and helps you develop relationships with other bloggers.

    The other thing you can to do to get noticed is shameless self-pimpage. Don’t just post to social networks. If you have an awesome post, send it to Instapundit or Malkin or Hot Air. And link out to other blogs as much as possible.

    Then, get ready for lots of disappointment.

    • What Jenn said. And blog for us more. Your posts are really good.

      But how do you get noticed? You distinguish yourself. You do something distinct. You create a unique voice and persona.

      • ChrisIsRIGHT says:

        Jenn and David,

        Thank you! I’ll have to look into submitting posts I’ve written to other sites. There are a couple I wrote that i really thought I’d like to be able to broadcast to a wider audience, but wasn’t quite sure how to go about it.

        See, I started blogging in 2004 or so, but it was a personal blog. Of course, I would have loved if it had taken off, but I wasn’t trying to make a specific point (or points) so it didn’t matter. Also, then, it was all about blog exchanges: BlogExplosion, BlogMad, etc. Things have changed so drastically since then as far as social networking goes. I need to catch up!

        David, I definitely plan on writing more for NewsReal Blog. I’m really enjoying writing for that site. The only reason I didn’t submit something this week was it was a Holiday weekend and I was making plans to go out of town. Thank you for the encouragement!

        I guess I need to learn how to do what you both suggested effectively. Sometimes, I feel like I’m spinning my wheels.

  2. emuleman says:

    Hey Chris, I found you! You must be doing something right!

    What I usually do is search on wordpress for a topic I have a strong opinion on, and then leave some comments on various blogs to participate in the conversation. Sometimes I agree with blogs, other times I don’t. In either case it is nice to have an intelligent conversation about the subject. Sometimes I might even get a different opinion that I never considered, and might even change my view a bit. This to me is the fun part of blogging, to discuss things and openly express your views. Hopefully some people are curious about who I am, and click the link back to my blog. Hopefully they find something interesting that they can also comment on, and that is how it all starts. (feel free to visit my blog and comment!)

    I also have a twitter, facebook and myspace account. I mainly use facebook because I have quite a few friends both far and near, past and present that I can communicate with. When I have posted an interesting blog I will post on these three sites about it and provide a link. Before you know it I start getting more traffic. I find blogs like yours that I find interesting and intelligent, and bookmark them to visit back later.

    I really don’t care about how many visitors I have, but would rather have a strong group of friends to leave comments for my blog. Sometimes I think I overdue it with my strong opinions, and might make some people upset. Oh well, I have to tell it like I see it. And just because we might disagree on a specific topic doesn’t mean we can’t be friends and have a conversation about it. Don’t be concerned with the sheer numbers, but by the conversation and feedback.

    Happy blogging!

    • ChrisIsRIGHT says:

      I do need to visit your blog! I’ve dropped by, but I’ve been so self-centered about getting myself up and running, I read less than I write.

      I really appreciate your suggestions about blogging, and the comments you’ve made on my blog. Thank you!

  3. bteacher99 says:

    Well, this post is a week old, but I was on vacation when it came out, so that’s my excuse!
    Part of the reason that it is “easy” to post on the BIGs is that there are so many comments already there. You sorta get a feel for what others are saying. Sometimes the comments help me refine my thoughts; other times I just reply to what folks have already said. Comments seem to breed more comments!
    So how do you get more comments? Beg? Plead? Make up a bunch of fake accounts and comments? I don’t know. I do know that it’s difficult for folks that have a life to keep up with multiple accounts and sites and stuff; if one gets tied in to too many social sites, the schedule will really be hopeless :)
    In any case, you got something to say, so say it! The audience will find you, eventually!

Leave a Reply

