An Open Letter to a Small Minority of Conservatives

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Recently, I’ve run into an ugly side of Twitter and social networking. While I’d like to blame it on the divisive politics of the left, I can’t. I’m seeing this side from self-proclaimed conservatives. And that ugly side is the playing of the “bigot” card for solely personal reasons. Disagree with a gay conservative, you’re a homophobe. Disagree with a black conservative, you’re a racist. Disagree with a Jewish conservative, you’re an anti-semite.

Now, before everyone gets all up in arms, I’m not saying this is a huge problem, and I’m certainly not saying that all conservative minority members act this way, not by a long shot. But, it is a problem, and it’s a problem for two reasons: 1) It is typically leftist divisive politicking. 2) Playing the “bigot” card on everyone with whom you have a disagreement takes away from real bigotry, which does exist, as we all know.

Let me be clear on this: shutting down any dissension with a “bigot” card is politically correct BS run amok, and if you practice it regularly, you might as well cross party lines, join the SEIU and put a picture of George Soros on your fridge. Because you have now aligned yourself with so-called minority politics, which is the firm stronghold of the left.

Not only that, you’re doing a strong disservice to other minority conservatives. Many of us come from backgrounds grounded in leftism, or are mistakenly associated with leftism because of our minority status. I, personally, was practically brainwashed by gay leftist groups like ActUP! and Queer Nation, who taught me that, not only was everyone in the world who disagreed with every minor talking point of the gay agenda a homophobe, I was a self-hating gay for not pushing the “official” agenda at every possible moment regardless of whether I agreed with it or not.

Therefore, this is as much a letter to myself as anyone else. While my core values are truly conservative, I am still minority-sensitive. I still have burned in neural pathways instructing me to brand someone as a “bigot” for not supporting every minority issue I support (though, in truth, I don’t support many other than basic human rights, which isn’t a minority issue but a majority one).

I’ve intellectualized these values, but it is still a struggle to take them to heart. Does that mean I’m not really a conservative? I believe in small, fiscally responsible government. I believe in individual rights and responsibilities over special interests and group-think. I support the Constitution (including all 10 amendments of the Bill of Rights), love my country, support the troops, stand with my allies against our common enemies. I know that Israel is my friend, and Hamas is not.

I am a conservative. But if I should give into my programmed, liberal vestiges which urge me to whine about “haters” every time I encounter someone who disagrees with me on a minority issue (or any other issue that brushes on one), I might as well not be, because my message will be lost in the noise.

Here’s the real irony: the gay rights movement, in particular, was all about my “right to be who I am.” Being an individual. Expressing myself freely. And yet, by playing the “homophobe” card, I would be attempting to take that right away from everyone else. Fred Phelps is a homophobe. The people who killed Matthew Shepard are homophobes. The wonderfully kind, compassionate and brilliant Mike Huckabee, who disagrees with the gay agenda where it conflicts with his belief in traditional family values is not.

I might not agree with Huckabee on every issue, but I’m not about to marginalize him as a “hater” when in fact he is just the opposite. It’s insincere. It accomplishes nothing. It’s slimy.

By playing the “homophobe” card for my own personal benefit, I also lump myself in with the same divisive social politics I’ve come to dislike. (And, just to point it out, I don’t dislike all liberals, or think of them homogeneously, either. I just dislike liberal politics and forced social engineering.)

Remember how up in arms we all got when the Tea Party was first labeled as racists because most of us are white? Remember how, just this week, we expressed disgust with liberal feminism, who fights for the rights of women to be strong individuals, then dehumanizes and de-feminizes every strong woman with whom they disagree? That’s what a very small number of conservatives are practicing in another direction.

We’re waging a social and cultural war in this country. We conservatives have common goals. We don’t need to coalesce into a group of perfectly like-minded little soldiers; we value individuality after all. But we do need to concentrate on those goals, not start ripping each other apart.

Dislike me? Fine. I might dislike you as well. But call me a “jerk,” or any strong variation of that word or expletive you’d care to employ. That’s your right. Don’t try to label me as a hater of any particular group of people when I’m not one. It makes you look like an idiot and says nothing about me whatsoever, no matter how often and how loudly you screech it.

Comments
6 Responses to “An Open Letter to a Small Minority of Conservatives”
  1. kelliejane says:

    I’m so relieved to find I’m not the only person who thinks Huckabee is an ok guy.

    • chrisisright says:

      I don’t agree with him on everything, and I don’t know him personally at all, but he seems to me to be one of the most genuine, warm and honest public figures I’ve ever encountered. I really, truly admire him.

  2. I truly believe the world would be a better place if we eliminated two simple and over-used statements from our vocabulary – “I’m offended” and “personal attack”. Both are dramatic terms meant to cut the legs out from underneath someone we don’t agree with. Those, along with “racist” and “homophobe” are an attempt to shut down any further discussion.

    Mature people understand that there will always be times when they are offended or disliked – but they move on without throwing a tantrum and playing the drama card. I find, especially at Twitter, that liberals are more likely to call me horrendous names based on one tweet of mine they happened to see. It doesn’t contribute anything meaningful to the conversation – they just do the Twitter version of the drive-by shooting. I don’t respond, I just ignore them and move on. Life is too short to waste time with people who don’t have enough brain cells to have an open discussion without resorting to name calling.

    • chrisisright says:

      Well, precisely. I’ll resort to name-calling if I dislike someone on a personal level, though I do try to keep it at a minimum. And I really try to keep it non-political. Like my suggestion to call me a jerk. If someone makes a truly personal attack, and one feels it necessary to call them out on it, then fine. But if I don’t agree with person A on issue B, that doesn’t make me a member of hate group X.

      Less drama is better.

      After all, if the point is to change minds, marginalizing someone with a “hate” epithet is hardly going to get it done.

  3. carolw says:

    Back when she was on the radio I listened to Dr. Laura all the time. One of many favorite messages from her was “Be Polite”. It doesn’t matter that you can’t stand half your kin, at weddings and family reunions you “Be Polite”. In the realm of ideas it is the gentle art of disagreeing without being disagreeable and I fear it is lost on much of the younger generation who have been taught that they are worthy of esteem even after they have let it “all hang out” in a most rude and embarrassing fashion. Rudeness serves the purposes of the left in that it divides people, a thing that conservatives can ill afford in these troubling times. Better we should recall the maxim, “The enemy of my enemy is my friend.”

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Continue reading at Chris is RIGHT. var a2a_config = a2a_config || {}; a2a_config.linkname="An Open Letter to a Small Minority of Conservatives"; a2a_config.linkurl="http://www.newsrealblog.com/2010/06/16/an-open-letter-to-a-small-minority-of-conservatives/"; […]



Leave a Reply

