May 20th – Everybody Draw Mohammad Day

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Cartoon Depictions of the Prophet Mohammed

Cartoon Depictions of the Prophet Mohammed - Posted all over the Internet

Until last night, where I swear I saw an interview with her on KOMO 4 News, I had no idea the person behind the “Everybody Draw Mohammad Day” movement was a Seattle artist. Shows how much I pay attention. Of course, I’ve scoured the KOMO 4 site for the interview, but it doesn’t appear to exist, so maybe I’m dreaming it. Or maybe it was too controversial to put online?

At any rate, Molly Norris backed off of the movement, originally intended as a protest against Comedy Central’s censorship of the South Park episode that depicted the prophet in a bear suit. Except, of course, it didn’t. The prophet was never in the bear suit. The second part of the two-part episode revealed it was Santa Claus in the suit all the time. Mohammad was never depicted in any way. That didn’t stop Comedy Central from censoring the episode after a radical Islamic website, RevolutionMuslim.com, posted a veiled threat against the show’s creators. (I’ve searched the site and can’t find the original post, but in “fairness” to Revolution Muslim, here is their clarification.)

Miss Norris renounced the idea shortly after it went viral on YouTube, Facebook and Twitter. It’s unclear what her motives were for distancing herself from the movement she started, since she was the one who promoted it in the first place, at least in part. However, it is clearly her right to do so.

Still, the movement continues. The Facebook page can be found here.

Will you participate on May 20th? Will your respect for religious beliefs prevent you, or are you prevented by fear of retribution?

Personally, I won’t be participating (I have no scanner), but I do support the concept. I understand depictions of the prophet are offensive to Muslims, but more offensive to me is the double standard imposed on Western civilization: all of our religions may be mocked, but none others. We must respect Islam, while Islam walks all over Christianity and Judaism.

The same politically correct folks who won’t mention “radical Islam” in relationship to terrorist bombings (are you listening, Mr. Holder) have no problem blaming conservative values on Christianity. As if conservative values were an evil, rather than a blessing, and terrorist murders only an inconvenience.

Are you a Muslim willing to threaten or kill anyone who dares to defy the laws of your religion and draw a depiction of your prophet? Well, you’re a sick person, but here’s some news for you: you have a lot of work to do! (And yet more work.)

I’m tired of this country’s administration kowtowing to Islam when it has no respect for Judaism or Christianity, upon which our very nation was founded. I am not afraid of radical Islamists. I think they’re small-minded cowards who aren’t mature enough to deal with criticism or reality, and so lash out like children. Children with weapons. I’m fully aware there are many peaceful Muslims who wish to live in this society and integrate with our culture, but we can no longer ignore the source of the problem: radical, violent Islam.

Everybody Draw Mohammad Day is one way to fight the oppression of violent extremism. Participate at will.

Comments
8 Responses to “May 20th – Everybody Draw Mohammad Day”
  1. While I won’t be participating on May 20, it is not out of fear, but the lack of talent.

    I don’t believe mocking Islam and the religion will win us any friends, and the back lash of the event may be much greater than predicted as I fully expect demonstrations by some Muslims offended by the Western depections of the Phophet to turn violent. While I respect the freedom of speech, I question if the freedom of a cartoonist to draw an offensive cartoon, worth the life of an innocent person they do not know?
    Don’t get me wrong, I think suicide bombers and terrorists are cowards and their tatics are to intimidate others all in the name of the “religion of Peace”.

    • chrisisright says:

      Keith: I totally respect your point of view, and your choice not to participate. However, can we allow radical nut jobs to dictate Western behavior based on threats of violence, or worse, actual violence?

      If we don’t take a stand here and now, what’s next? Some of the same museums displaying works of “art” like “pisschrist”, for example, are quietly removing works of art that some Muslims warn “may be potentially offensive.”

      Keep in mind, the same people who are willing to kill over religious offense are also willing to kill just because we support Israel, or because we have “loose morals,” or because we’re “infidels.”

      In my opinion, we’ve already taken too many steps backward. We need to fight a cultural war here and now, before we’re backed into a corner.

      • The short version of my reply is just: You (or I) can, but should we? In other words, I can call a black person the N-word, but as fellow human, and know the hurt that word will cause, so should I?
        Years ago I had the opportunity to live in a community where 90% of the citizens were Mormon (LDS). I once asked my next door neighbor how she could believe a book and religion that was for all purposes a rip off of the Book of John from the bible. Her reply was an education unto itself. She said, “Keith, this is the religion I was born with, raised with and the guide that taught me the lessons of life. To me it is a life ring in life’s stormy seas. Just because it isn’t YOUR life ring, and you have problems with it, doesn’t mean I will let go of it and swim to you.”
        I’m sure many of the Muslims we see as fanatic have similar thoughts, just as I am sure they have seen how our freedom of speech has allow some people to desecrate our religious symbols in the name of “Art”. You and I live in a world much different than theirs and as Obama once said, people cling to religion. To intentionally disrespect their religion without regarding their feelings to prove a point seems childish.
        I don’t lose any freedom by choosing not to draw Mohammad because I still can if I want, I just use my Freedom of Choice not to.

  2. Gary Rumain says:

    I set up a blog to host images, videos and jokes for the event. I use IntenseDebate as the commenting system as it allows embedded images and videos right in the comment. My blog’s here.

    Please read the first post on posting guidelines to find out how to do it. It can be done anonymously.

    Long live free speech!

  3. chrisisright says:

    Keith: Your Mormon example compares apples to oranges. If you had questioned your neighbor’s beliefs and she had TRIED TO KILL YOU, then you’d have an analogy.

    As I’ve stated, I respect your opinion, but I disagree with it. Why continue to belabor the point? I’ll never agree with you on this issue. Did you read my second post on the subject? Did you follow the link at the bottom? Did you see how UK police apologized to Muslims for using a puppy in an advertisement, because Muslims complained that dogs are “unclean?”

    Yes, having a right includes having the right not to exercise it, but increasingly, even peaceful Muslims in this society, not just abroad, are insisting we shape our culture to suit their religion. Did you read about Muslim students at Trinity university insisting the word “In the year of our Lord” be removed from diplomas? Do you know that even peaceful Muslims would like Israel wiped off the face of the earth? Do you know where the word Iran comes from?

    Once again, and why you continue to avoid this point escapes me, the reason for “Everybody Draw Mohammad Day” is to protest the violent attacks and murders of those who would dare to criticize Muslims. Even Cat Stevens (his Islam name escapes me), a “peaceful Muslim” called for the death of Salmon Rushdie for his portrayal of Mohammad as a businessman in “The Satanic Verses.”

    This is NOT about offending Islam, but seriously, why should I go out of my way to avoid offense when Islam, peaceful or radical, tries to impress its own belief system on me, my culture and the entire Western world? This is a response to direct threats made against cartoonist, journalists and entertainers who would dare to portray Islam in anything but the most glowing terms.

    Yes, sometimes it’s worth offending someone to take a stand for something else. In this case, freedom is much more important than hurt feelings. If Muslims around the world are offended by this demonstration, I invite them to no longer use our web based businesses like Facebook. But, frankly, Muslims complain about everything that isn’t according to Islamic law, and that’s idiotic and will not stand.

  4. No attempt to sway you to my viewpoint, and I respect your views as well. If you read my blog you’ll see we agree on many issues and I do exercise my freedom of speech, just by other means.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] chrisisright.wordpress.com Posted on May 18, 2010 […]



Leave a Reply

  • wordpress blog stats
  • Performancing Metrics
  • Globe of Blogs
